Saturday, February 2, 2008

Turns out if was a Yaffle of Poets that won the New Year's Resolution Contest!

It turns out that all the winners of our recent New Year's Resolution Contest are serious wordsmiths. Here's a little about each of them:

Grand Prize Winner:

Andreae Prozesky

Andreae Prozesky is the Food Nerd at the Scope. She writes a weekly column about food with many a meander aside to refresh the palate.
She is also working on a collection of poems Sparrows from Sparks.

Runners-Up (in alphabetical order):

Don McKay

Don McKay is the author of eleven books of poetry, most recently Strike/Slip which won the Griffen Poetry Prize in 2007.

Sigurbjörg Þrastardóttir

Sigurbjörg Þrastardóttir is a journalist, novelist, playwright and poet living in Reykjavík.

Kathleen Winter

Kathleen Winter has written a weekly column for the Telegram forever. Her recent collection of fiction boYs won the Metcalf-Rooke Award.


You can read all four of the winning entries here.


The New Year's Resolution Contest was based on using 14 words from the Dictionary of Newfoundland English that had previously appeared as Word of the Week on the facebook group REDEFiNE iT. Both the facebook group and the contest were sponsored by

No comments: